In

Energising the living fabric of your body: The molecular engines of Metabolism

Dr Drew Berry, WEHI

Speaker

Dr Drew Berry

The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

I create biomedical animations that combine cinema and science to reveal the microscopic worlds inside our bodies.

My career began in cell biology and microscopy at The University of Melbourne. I have used this knowledge to bring a rigorous scientific approach to every topic, immersing myself in relevant research and current data to ensure the frontier of human discovery is authentically reconstructed.

Since 1995, I have worked as a biomedical animator at the institute. My animations have exhibited at the Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Modern Art, the Royal Institute of Great Britain and the University of Geneva.

Visit the WEHI.TV gallery to watch some of Drew’s animations.

Schedule

DATETIMEPRESENTERVENUEREGISTER
Wednesday 23 November 20223.00PM AWST
5.00PM AEST
5.30PM ACDT
6.00PM AEDT
Dr Drew BerryThe University of Melbourne OR onlineRegister for the public lecture

 

Talk abstract

Drew Berry will present the molecular mechanisms that power your cells and tissues, converting food and air into the flow of chemical energy that makes your body be alive.  Exploiting incredible advances in video game technology, vast molecular landscapes can be generated upon a foundation of scientific research. Enabling interactive exploration of dynamic molecular biology in ultra-high resolution detail, accessible and illuminating science education delivered via student mobile technology.